The Whitman Conservation District, established in 1966, provides technical, financial and educational support related to the conservation of natural resources in southern Whitman County.

The District is governed by a five-member Board of Supervisors, of which three are elected and two are appointed by the Washington State Conservation Commission Board of Supervisors.  The District is largely dependent on state funding for its programs.

Based out of Colfax, Washington, the Whitman Conservation District is responsible for partaking in conservation efforts within the Southeastern part of Whitman County. Our interdisciplinary team is comprised of Natural Resource professionals that care highly for the restoration and beautification of the Palouse.

District Staff

Josh Larsen

District Manager

Cell: 509-610-2099


Glenn Mitchell

Conservation Planner

Cell: 509-610-2100